Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Learning songs i think are hard, help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by d8g3jdh, Sep 28, 2005.

1. d8g3jdh

d8g3jdh Guest

Aug 9, 2005
    I think this is GI, im not sure though...

I have decided to learn 2 new songs, they are YYZ by rush and orion by metallica (specifically the solo). I have gotten the tabs off powertabs(i know, im a cheater, oh well), as far as i cant tell they are both 99.9% correct. Once i looked at the tab i kinda said 'whoa' and realized that this was a bit of a task i had just undertaken.

I've been playing for about 6 months, give or take, and was wondering to those of you who know these songs how long you had been playing for when you learned them, and how long it took you to learn them. Also, i can tell im going to need yo get faster pretty much all across the fretboard, i was wondering some good techniques for that? If im way out of my league please let me know.

Any other tips/advice you have would be much appreciated

Peace

2. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    If you're very very talented and very very dedicated to learning bass, you might be ready for YYZ within 2 years of playing.

Most players would be getting to YYZ in 3-5 years. Some phenoms could do it in 1-2 years.

It's not that realistic a goal for a 6 month player. It has fast riffs, up and across the neck, and has odd time signatures. It's the kind of song you absolutely have to be able to play precisely and with confidence or the whole thing will just sound like sloppy flailing.