Learning Standard Notation.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Kattabass, Feb 18, 2006.

1. I can't read standard notation for the life of me. Quite quickly, I discovered tab, and learned it in 30 seconds. So, now I want to learn a skill I may not fully use, but I would like to know anyway. I bought the Bass Guitar for Dummies book. Does it contain enough information to adaquetly teach me how to read SR? If not, what resources on the internet can help. I'm trying to learn as much as I can self-taught.
  2. Osprey

Jun 20, 2005
    There are some excellent books & videos, but to help you get a grip do you know a program called Powertab? Free download.
    You see two rows: tab below, stave notation above. Click on the tab and put a number in: say 3 on the E string. A G appears in the notation. When you have a row of notes you can experiment by changing the notes to quarter notes, half notes etc & put bar-lines in, then hit play to see how close you are.
    With this and any theory book (the Guitar Handbook by Ralph Denyer has a nice clear theory section) you can make a good start.
    Everyone has a style of learning that suits them, but maybe this will help.
  3. Thanks, I'll try it out.
  4. chasfr

Jan 4, 2005
    You might also try eMusictheory.com, they've got some great drills for reading standard notation. I find their "Paced Note Reading" particularly good. You can set it up for just bass clef, adjust the speed to your own level, and play with it for as long as you like, identifying notes as they slide across the staff. Give it 10 minutes a day for a couple of weeks and you'll be surprised how well you're reading.

Good luck!
  5. orlfl

Jul 22, 2005