Learning the fret board???

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dirtyslappopper, Dec 17, 2002.

1. I know this is prolly getting old already, but wut r some of the best ways fer learning all the notes on bass... Someone posted a real good lesson from activebass.com but i cant find it.
  2. Europa

Europa Guest

Dec 14, 2002
    Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
    Check out the thread at:

> Bass Guitar > Ask a Pro! > Ask Mike Watt > Learnin' the Fret Board

Good suggestions in there...

"Music should never be harmless" - Robbie Robertson
  3. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I never really had any particular method to learning it, that area(like most areas) of my bass playing is almost 100% self taught, someone gave me a push to learn it, so I just sat around and thought about it some.

one thing that might help is to visualize a fretboard on your right arm, hold your right arm in a position similiar to where the neck of your bass may be when you play and use your left hand to do fingerings. that helps for a lot of general fingering issues ..etc.

another thing that will probably help a lot is to run through scales saying every note you play aloud as you hit it, do every scale you know, arpeggios, random notes...get a friend to say random notes and you have to goto them(the first one you are closest to, or whichever one speaks to you at the moment...I.E your friend says G and you goto the 5th fret of the D sting, or the 10th fret of the A string or the 3rd fret of the E string...doesn't make a difference, each way you learn another way to hit a G)

Also you might want to have a chart that shows all the notes plain and simple.

I don't know, thats just some suggestions.
  4. Hilly

Jan 10, 2002
    Ipswich, UK
    I was given an exercise that I found very useful for this, I still run through it regularly.