Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Learning to hear

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by bassbloke, Apr 10, 2002.

1. bassbloke

bassbloke

Feb 26, 2002
    UK
    I'm an electric player but am posting this to the DB board because I think the depth of knowledge is generally much deeper.

I've been playing guitar and bass off and on for many years. I'm a self-taught player, mainly by ear, and over the years have transcribed quite a lot of guitar and bass music. Nevertheless I've never regarded myself as having good ears.

I have an ambition to play jazz and last year I embarked on an attempt to get my ears into shape, starting off with computer generated interval recognition. I keep reading that anyone can "learn" to have good ears. After almost a year of doing this for a few hours a week I am disappointed with the results. I have made some progress: I can usually work out the interval between any two notes played simultaneously. But the key to that phrase is "work out": I don't recognise most invervals straight away, I have to pick out the two notes being played and sing them first. I haven't even got as far as working on chords and scales because I think I should be able to recognise intervals immediately before I move to a higher level.

I really thought the amount of work I've put in - probably hundreds of hours in total - would have taken me further along the road than this. I think I can now hear harmonies on a piece of music a bit more distinctly but the improvement is marginal and I'm not sure it's had any effect on my actual playing.

This is a real concern because my feeling is that no matter how good my technique is or how well I understand theory I won't be able to play jazz until I can hear what other players are doing and respond to it.