Learning to Instructor // Ideas Please

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by EricssonB, Apr 12, 2018.

1. EricssonB

EricssonB Supporting Member

Apr 5, 2011
    CO
    Hey there should be a sticky on this subject.

I have been talking to the manager at a local-yet-somewhat-corporate music store about teaching guitar, bass and saxomaphone a few hours a week. Sounding like I'll get the gig, but then again, I̶ ̶h̶a̶v̶e̶ ̶n̶o̶ ̶i̶d̶e̶a̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶I̶'̶m̶ ̶d̶o̶i̶n̶g̶ I have never taught before. Sure, I've been playing the lot of them for 15-20 years depending, but never had formal instruction.

Please help. What do I do. Where do I start. Question marks.

2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Did you tell them you have no idea what you're doing? Personally I wouldn't feel right about teaching anything (and getting paid for it) if I didn't know how. I don't know if any amount of advice you're gonna get in this thread will be enough.

Matthew_84 and EricssonB like this.
  3. EricssonB

Apr 5, 2011
    CO
    Nah that was just me being a bit dramatic; slow day at work but the coffee's been flowing.

They're aware that I haven't had any formal teaching positions (aside from helping out some friends' kids) but I've been in that store enough to where they know who I am and my playing levels. I have the chops and theory built up for beginning-to-intermediate instruction and the patience to teach.

I guess I am just looking for a bit of general direction on how to lead a lesson.

4. Instructions in the back room of a music store --- find out what the student wants to learn and then reach into your filing cabinet for a lesson plan that will help this happen.

So start working on some lesson plans ---- and I know that is what you are asking us for. I'd recommend taking an instruction book you would like to work from. Use the first ten pages for beginner ideas. Next ten pages for ......

Key here is ideas, page by page gets into copyright problems.