Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Learning to sit in the pocket

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by jsorvik, Jan 17, 2002.

1. jsorvik

jsorvik

Mar 22, 2000
    I have been playing bass for a couple of years now, and I am finding out more that I don't know every day! But one thing I really want to improve is my rhythmic ability. What are the best ways to improve my sense of rhythm and my ability to sit in the pocket and give more "groove" to what I play.

Are there metronome techniques that help?

Thanks!

2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Different teachers have different methods. I know Jeff Berlin and Ed Friedland use a metrnome often. I am not so sure of it's value. I like playing with real live drummers!.

As I work with a drummer and really start listening to them more than myself (as I start to hear myself as a member of an ensemble as opposed to primarily listening to myself), I try to play off different drums. Create a groove with the kick drum or, my favorite, the ride cymbal.

Play inside, outside, on top of the groove. Allow yourelf to experiment. This can be very useful for the drummer as well. Listen to groove players you like and really analyze how they do it. Transcribe their lines and their feel and try to apply some of it to your own playing.

Mike

3. Lovebown

Lovebown

Jan 6, 2001
    Sweden
    Heh, I know Ed Friedland uses it but I'm not quite sure about Jeff Berlin ;)

/lovebown

4. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    I used to study with Ed Friedland and his approach to the metronome is to use it to help develop your own internal time. Until you have a good internal time sense you can't groove well because you are always trying to reference the time from others (usually the drummer).