Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Learning

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by jonasp, Dec 1, 2002.

1. Hello...i've done some searching in the forums. I haven't found anything good. Here is what I need. I've been playing bass for almost 2 years. In my book, I am really not good at all. I have been through a beginners bass book (teaches the basics) and a beginners guide to Rock Bass (did not teach me anything new).

I want to learn more. There is nobody in my area that gives lessons. So, i'm looking for a good book that might help me. Would scales help my performance? (i.e. Big Book of Scales) Or should i look for an advanced bass book?

Any tips or suggestions? What books have you guys been through? How did it work for you?

2. First I'd say that you really look harder into finding a teacher. Remeber, a teacher doesn't necessarily someone you find that teaches part time at some local music shop. Try community colleges. Even if they don't give courses designed specifically for bass, just a music theory course should help out your playing immensily.

Or if you are unable to get into a community college because of your age, your high school may offer a music theory course. Take an intro to Jazz course, Jazz may not be your thing, but it is theory rich and you can use that knowledge in whatever style of music you play. At the least they may have a guitar course that should get a little into theory.

What I am saying is: there are alot of places you can go to get lessons, don't just stop searching when you find out that "Joe's Music" doesn't offer any.

3. No music theory at my school. I live in a little town. There is only 1000 people, no music shop. I could join a jazz band, but the director isn't exactly the best one i've seen. He wouldn't teach me anything about theory.

I never thought about taking a music theory class when I get to college.