1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Least amount of time to play keep skills...?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by cire113, May 18, 2011.

1. cire113

cire113

Apr 25, 2008
    What's the least amount of time i can play bass everday and not get rusty?

The reason im asking is i love bass but ive been playing over 6 hours a day for about 2 years now.. i want to slow down and take a break for a few months and listen to more "music"...

and rest my arms a bit

2. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration

Aug 17, 2007
    Reno/Tahoe
    Six hours a day practice for 2 years is dedication, man.
    If you feel the need to "slow down", try cutting it down to whatever feels comfy to you.
    Dont stop completly. Maybe an hour or two a day?? It's gonna be different for everyone.
    Do not fear becoming rusty. Rust only happens when you stop altogether for a length of time, then pick it back up.

3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    +1. Regularity is the key to avoid getting rusty. An hour or two of focused practice every day, should be enough to keep you ticking over.

4. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN
    IMHO, if your skills are at a very high level, it will take several hours per day of practice/drill to keep them there. If your skills are of a more moderate level, perhaps only an hour or two per week. Kinda like this:

Attached Files:

5. Col Pruse

Col Pruse

May 28, 2003
    Savannah, GA
    wish I had 6 hrs a day of free time...