1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Leaving a big band. For the right reasons?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by jgsbass, Oct 1, 2009.

1. jgsbass

jgsbass

May 28, 2003
    Floral Park, NY
    I've been playing with a large horn band for the last 2 years more or less. When I first joined, the leader was only doing his original material. Still very big band centered: think 1930's and 1940's pop music. Never was in love with the rhythm section but the charts were good and there is something special about being in a room where you have 12 horns screaming. Did a local cable TV show (a funny story that I told in another thread, think trombone) and had a steady Sunday night for a while in a jazz club in the Theater district of NYC. Obviously to take on the club gig, they busted out some stock arrangements and mixed in some originals.
    Here's the first issue. I took on the responsibility of this gig because it was original music. I have enough gigs that pay, this certainly wasn't paying my mortgage or paying my sons college.The focus seemed to change from the originals to getting enough material to get gigs. These can't make a lot of dough because the door divided by 16 is usually gas money, not much more. Now if it were a labor of love, the bucks wouldn't matter. The leader paid for rehearsals ( gas money again) to keep the band together and to keep learning material. He has a few self made CDs that actually get some airplay on NPR and the like, so he is aware that any real recognition and bread are down that pipeline. Playing out is necessary to him in order to keep his name out there: it is his band.