Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

led zeppelin song construction

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by synapsis, Mar 24, 2005.

1. synapsis

synapsis

Mar 24, 2005
    zeppelin is definitely one of the better rock bands that were introduced during the late 60's, early 70's. however many bands fail to produce the same quality of tunes, so my question is basically what makes their tunes different? i don't really want this to be about the tones, the equipment or the era, which contributed to their overall sound and success - i want this to focus on the way the songs were written. for one, i have zero knowledge when it comes to theory, which leaves me guessing to why it is that they used the mixolydian mode for a lot of their songs, and how they even used that scale to produce the riffs they did. can anyone shed some light on this for me?

2. PlayTheBass

PlayTheBass aka Mac Daddy

Dec 7, 2004
    Carmichael, CA
    I personally don't think it had anything to do with tone, equipment, or era -- their songwriting and playing is timeless. And as with all great music, it's a misguided pursuit to try to pin down a theoretical explanation based on modes, etc.

And actually, if I had had to pick a Zep mode, it would be straight up Aeolian. In fact, most of their great riffs that come to mind are simply minor pentatonic, blues stuff. It's a palette that a million other bands have used, but Zep just did it in amazingly original, soulful way (yes, they borrowed very heavily from what came before them, blues artists in particular, but still...).

To me, the keys to Led Zeppelin's greatness are:

1. Songwriting.
    2. Perfect chemistry between all four players, resulting in a feel & groove rarely (if ever) matched in rock & roll.
    3. John Bonham, John Bonham, John Bonham.