Left hand beginner dilemma!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by a123, Aug 21, 2019.

1. Keep it as it is.

100.0%
  2. Reverse the strings.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. a123

a123

Aug 21, 2019
    Here's a bit of backstory so that you can understand my issue better;
    I am left handed, however I started learning by myself on a borrowed right handed bass guitar that I just flipped over, without reversing the string order because the E string was too short for me to restring it.Keep in mind that I practiced for 2-3 months like this.
    After that I figured out that I liked playing it and wanted to keep improving so I decided to buy a new left hand bass. I recently ordered the 'Fender Standard Jazz Bass'.

And here's where my dilemma starts:
    I'm not sure If i should reverse the strings on this new bass, or just re-learn it with the correct string order.Also, If I decide to reverse the strings I will most likely need to modify the nut (I'd have someone that knows what they're doing do that for me, but I still feel like I'd be ruining an expensive instrument though).
    I don't personally know any bassists that could help so I suppose this is the best place to ask.

2. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA
    Leave it strung "correctly" and learn to play it that way. In the short term this will obviously require a period of adjustment, but it will be well worth it in the long term. You don't want to commit yourself to a lifetime of only being able to play basses strung "upside-down" just because you happened to start out that way for a couple of months. Besides, I think you'll be surprised to how much of what you've already learned will transfer to learning the "correct" way, and the adjustment won't be as difficult as you probably expect.

Skeezix, Kriegs and Mushroo like this.
  3. a123

a123

Aug 21, 2019
    Thank you for explaining! I really appreciate being able to consult more experienced people.