Left hand little finger

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mjpzx2, Jan 11, 2009.

1. mjpzx2

mjpzx2 Guest

Jan 11, 2009
    Hi there, just had a look on google for a bass forum to ask a question and this place looks awesome. I'll definitely have a good read and come back often :)

OK I am a beginner and have had no lessons. What I learn is gernally from a book and I play songs from tabs at the minute. Although I am getting better whilst going through the book exercises. My question is about the little finger on my left hand. When I am playing I do use it, however when not being used it goes in an odd curled up position by default :p same is true of my third finger to some extent. When I see pros play though all fingers are covering the entire neck and often I can't even tell which fret or finger they are holding down. Is my problem normal for beginners? How do I get over it and do I need to?

Cheers for your time! Michael.

2. Practice, practice, practice.

If I had a time machine one of my stops would be to myself as a beginning bassist & say "LEARN PROPER TECHNIQUE, YOU LAZY-ARSE S.O.B.!!"

3. mjpzx2

mjpzx2 Guest

Jan 11, 2009
    Lol, cheers for that :p
    I'll say that to myself now then. How can I go about practicing the proper left hadn technique though?

4. Ric5

Ric5 Inactive

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I like 5, 8, 10, and 12 string basses
    use all of your fingers.

practice chromatic sacles ... (all 12 notes) ... one finger per fret play all the notes up and down over and over ... drill it into your brain until it becomes automatic.

5. ColdSteelRain

ColdSteelRain Guest

Jul 27, 2008
    Dallas, TX
    Having my left-hand fingers "hover" has been really hard for me. I use this exercise to warm up, and maybe it'll help you. It's a variation on the chromatic scales thing.