1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Left-Hand Muting (i.e. keeping noises from happening)

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by LeftHandMuting, Apr 9, 2010.

1. LeftHandMuting

LeftHandMuting

Apr 9, 2010
    Hi,

I've had this same problem for 5 months since I started playing bass and I haven't found good information nearly anywhere on it.

I was wondering if anyone could detail the specifics of using the right hand to mute the strings (NOT muted notes like "---x---" which a lot of information available will talk about).

I play a four string bass and I've been using the floating thumb technique to mute the A-string while I play the G-string and to mute the E-string while I play the D-string. This works okay most of the time but there are a lot of songs that make that thumb just be in the way. I've tried using my ring finger of my right hand to mute the A-string but that gets in the way too. Now, I see a lot of people that keep their thumb anchored and move fluidly up and down the strings with their right-hand and do the majority of their muting with the left-hand.

For example, they use their left thumb to mute the E-string at certain times, or keep the middle up, or...this is where my problem is--I'm not really sure what they do. I also would like to learn to slap bass better and I would need to learn this for that too--so having one solid sort of technique would be great. I watch videos of people online but they're usually too blurry, or fast to tell, and sometimes it seems arbitrary.

I try to figure it out and, say if I'm muting the E-string with my thumb, my ability to play four note stretches on the A and D-strings are severely limited.

If someone could help me out here with specifics like, "Mute the E with your middle unless you use it, then mute with thumb" or something. And any suggestions on how to develop it would be great.