Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Left hand right hand question

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by d_squad54, Jan 11, 2006.

1. d_squad54

d_squad54

Dec 2, 2005
    G------------------------------------------------
    D---------14----------12----------7--------7-----
    A------12---14-12--10---12-10--5---7-5--5---7-5-
    E------------------------------------------------

Could someone please give me the proper fingering for the left hand on this, right now I have

1-3-2-1-1-3-2-1-1-3-2-1-1-3-2-1
    or instead of where the 2 is should it be the pinky (4)?
    I just want to make sure I am doing it right (is there more then one way) since I am fairly new at bass.
    Thanks for your time. Also does it depend on the sound and the tempo of which fingers to use with the right hand, how do you decide?

2. Audiophage

Audiophage

Jan 9, 2005
    There isn't really a "right way". As long as you're not hurting yourself then your technique is fine for your playing.

If you're having trouble with the position switch you could use the open D string instead the first time you use the 5th fret of the A string to make the transition easier.

3. I don't see any problem with your frethand fingering, but its some extra work you don't really need. Try using the third finger to play the "stacked" notes. ie. 1-3-3-1-3-3- etc.

I would also concentrate on alternating fingers on your plucking hand. This will help you later when you want to play faster stuff. Since the piece has triplets, you could also take some time to work on a 3-finger plucking technique if you want.

4. d_squad54

d_squad54

Dec 2, 2005