1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Left hand technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jaredschaffer, Jul 23, 2012.

1. jaredschaffer

jaredschaffer

Jul 17, 2012
    I've been playing for 5-6 years, and recently my friend (who is mainly a guitarist but also plays bass) told me that my left thumb should be centered at the back of the neck parallel to the fret between my index and middle fingers. Its a pain because Im basically retraining myself, but I have noticed that I can reach better with my fingers instead of having to shift up and down the neck. Just want to make sure this is correct technique though before i kill myself trying to make it second nature. Does anyone else play like this?

2. bloobass

bloobass

Jul 10, 2012
    Louisville, KY
    I may get flamed, but I believe the best technique might be the one that feels best. It definitely shouldn't hurt...my thumb goes from the position you described, to all the way over the top, muting the low b, depending what notes I'm fretting (like I was holding a bat), and what I'm playing. I find it kind of naturally wraps around when I'm playing simpler stuff (like pumping eigths, or holding long notes). I am also of the belief that your body should not be too fixed and rigid, otherwise what you play will come across as fixed and rigid.

Just my opinion.

3. jaredschaffer

jaredschaffer

Jul 17, 2012
    Why would you get flamed? Sounds pretty logical to me :p I mainly notice a difference when using scales (practicing, improvising, etc.) but yeah, when I play simple riffs that dont require much left hand movement, it just seems more natural to go back to how I usually play, so I can relate to you on that

4. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland

+1. Let the thumb go where it wants.

"Why" is explained here :