left hand techniques

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jimclark68, Jun 21, 2001.

1. jimclark68

Dec 16, 2000
    Morganton, NC
    I've been playing bass on and off for the past 16 years. I'm self-taught, and I'm trying for the first time to really learn some technique. I have always played scales/arpeggios/etc using all 4 fingers of my left hand. However, some sources suggest using primarily the 1st, 2nd, and 4th fingers for most stuff. In particular, I recently read some tips from Carol Kaye's website, and she really encourages this technique, citing that the 3rd finger is too weak in most circumstances. I am cursed with very small hands and fingers, so I'm willing to learn new techniques if it's really going to benefit. I am curious to hear from others out there about what left hand techniques they use, pros/cons, or any other helpful or interesting information.
  2. I never liked the 1, 2, 4 idea. Your third finger gets stronger as you play.
  3. I say do what's comfortable to begin with, and if you aren't satisfied with what you can do with that, start trying to do something else as well.

As for me, I tend to use mainly my 1st, 2nd & 4th fingers of my left hand most of the time, but if I need to, I can use my 3rd finger without too much of a problem, if any at all. :)
  4. furtim

Dec 12, 1999
    Boston, MA, USA
    I use 1-2-4. This is mostly because I was trained to play like this on the Double Bass. However, I have discovered recently that the middle finger on my left hand is rather oddly bent towards the ring finger... it's gotta be at least a 20 degree angle. Just don't ask why I've never noticed it before. ;)