Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Left Handed Slap question....

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by LifeSpitter, Apr 8, 2002.

1. LifeSpitter

LifeSpitter Guest

Apr 6, 2002
    Bass Heaven
    Is left handed slapping the same as slapping an open string and hammering hard, or is there a difference? If so someone enlighten me....

Peace

2. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    well... I'm no expert on left handed slapping.. but I am pretty sure b/c this is what i sometimes will do is.. With my left hand i hit all 5 or so strings at at once. You hit all the strings and keep your left hand down as to keep those strings muted. I don't really do it that much so someone else can probably tell you more about it than I can

3. LifeSpitter

LifeSpitter Guest

Apr 6, 2002
    Bass Heaven
    Is that right?

Can someone give an accurate description of this technique so i dont have to wallow in my lack of knowledge for much longer.....Thanks.

4. Murf

Murf

Mar 28, 2001
    Ireland
  5. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Slightly curve your lefthand fingers, so that they match the fingerboard radius and "pat" the strings with all of them simultaneously. You don't need much strength, it more a matter of momentum (that holds true for any slap technique).
    Using more than one or two fingers will avoid unwanted harmonics, curving the fingers will enable you to hit all strings at once, making the LH slap louder.

Mark King is one of the LH slap masters.

6. LifeSpitter

LifeSpitter Guest

Apr 6, 2002
    Bass Heaven
    I Kinda get it......

I mean,...is it muted when you slap with your left hand or is it a hammer on. Plus, when is htis used...

Im very curios....help me

7. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY