Left-handed upright on eBay?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by WildPotato, Nov 10, 2004.

1. WildPotato

Apr 27, 2004
    Hi. I was directed to this forum by another bass player in hopes that the infinite wisdom held within would somehow guide me in my quest for an double bass.

I'm a left-handed bass guitarist, have been for years. I'm currently a music major at Florida Atlantic University.

I need a double bass. They're kind of hard to find left-handed. At this point I'm looking at either special ordering an Engelhardt through Bob Gollihur, or buying this carved import from eBay. The store says it's a house brand they import from South Korea, touted its overall quality, etc.

Does anyone here know anything about these basses?

Please help.

2. excuse the ignorance (as of now my experience with double bass has been limited to 10 minute sessions with the crappy import in a local instrument store), but what makes a double bass left handed?
    i assume it goes beyond just reversing the order of the strings...
  3. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    San Francisco, CA
    My guess is that if you switch the string order, the bassbar inside the bass is on the wrong side. THe bassbar needs to sit underneath the bass foot of the bridge, and the soundpost needs to be moved next to it to support everyting. Without the bassbar/soundpost, the bass might collapse in a bad way. Beyond that, the compound radius of the fingerboard, nut, and possibly bridge will cause more complications since they're all made for right handers.

Maybe learning to become ambidexterrous is alot easier than all that. :meh:
  4. azflyman

Apr 24, 2004
    Astoria, OR