1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

left handed uprights

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by dean_hedges@hot, Oct 30, 2010.

1. dean_hedges@hot

dean_hedges@hot

Oct 30, 2010
    seattle
    I am looking for a true left handed upright bass

2. 61pollmann

61pollmann

Apr 30, 2005
    Wisconsin
    Paesold made one for Jennifer Leitham. I believe they are a German company, but have some American dealers. Try doing a Google search.

3. VonCakeman

VonCakeman

Sep 22, 2010
    Chicago, IL
    I'm far from an expert on the subject, but I don't see any reason why you couldn't get a left handed nut and bridge and put it on any upright you like.

4. Stick_Player

Stick_Player Banned

Nov 13, 2009
    Somewhere on the Alaska Panhandle (Juneau)
    Endorser: Plants vs. Zombies Pea Shooters
    I had a left-handed piano.

5. Raccio14

Raccio14

Mar 3, 2010
    :D:D

6. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    No. The innards of a bass are asymmetrical, as is the fingerboard typically.

Lots of lefties have learned to play bass right-handed, so this should be considered as an option as it greatly opens up your options for finding basses. OTOH if you have already been playing for some time, or are coming from the electric bass side, switching to righty might be more difficult.

7. ctcruiser

ctcruiser

Jan 16, 2005
    West Haven, CT
    If you do a search in this forum, you will find plenty of lefty options for double bass. (as well as the arguments to learn to play right-handed)

There are several manufacturers of DB's that offer left-handed models: including Christopher, Engelhardt, Upton, and others.

The problem is that it is a custom order and dealers usually do not have a lefty in stock to try out. Over the years, I have only found one lefty in a shop (Stein on Vine in LA).