Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

lefties

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by slumberland, Sep 21, 2002.

1. slumberland

slumberland

Sep 17, 2002
    Puerto Rico
    Hi

I'm looking for experience southpaw players who can provide me with reliable information about all the things you have to consider before buying a lefhanded dublebass.( If there's such a thing) I now we are kind of restricted and must of the time we are penalized for somethig that is not in our hands. I really understand the issues about that we are a minority and so on. But at the same time we have the same rightsto play and enjoy music.

Since I'm a rookie on this matter I will appreciate any solidarity and guidence on this matter.
    Thanks in advance and keep on playing
    rolus
    P.S Sorry guys but English is not my first language so if you don't undestand any part of the messege feel free to ask as many times you want.

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Do you play bass guitar already, or would you be starting from scratch?

3. I'm a lefty doublebassist and there may be a few others here. There are a lot of issues with lefties that righties will never have to deal with.
    This question has come up before, but I think we could benefit from some more discussion on the issue.
    First, I would recommend trying to play righty, for many reasons. If you play other string instruments and have developed your musical mind and body toward left-handed play, this may be too great an obstacle to overcome.
    If you're looking for a student-level bass that is set-up lefty, you may be out of luck. A good luthier can change one over, but that is a considerable commitment of money.
    Feel free to PM me if you have questions, or better yet, post them here so that others may benefit from the discussion.

4. jaybo

jaybo Guest

Sep 5, 2001
    Richmond, KY