Lefty but AllRighty

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by joshuadick, Mar 3, 2006.

1. joshuadick

Mar 15, 2005
    I'm new to double bass (been playing electric for 12 years), and I'm left handed, so some would say I was bound to have a negative first experience in buying an upright.

I played alot of student/intermediate level basses and decided that for the features I wanted and the price I was willing/able to pay, the Engelhardt ES1 was the one for me: ebony fingerboard and tailpiece, solid construction, etc.
    I called around and found that the folks at Upton Bass www.uptonbass.com in Connecticut were very informative and patient with me. Very cool "real" people. Talked to me 4-5 times before I even placed an order.

I waited just over a month to have the bass custom made left handed from the factory, but it was worth the wait! I had been practicing on an EUB for a while, but when this bass came, it felt so much more natural and my practice time was much more effective. I've really turned a corner on the instrument and I feel confident that having a great bass like this is much of the reason.

The bass I bought from Upton played so much better than other ones I'd played locally (Atlanta). It was setup very (VERY) nicely, and Upton actually replaced alot of the stock parts with upgraded parts. The point here is that setup is EVERYTHING on these basses. DO NOT judge this bass unless it's been properly setup by a professional. The purchase price on mine included setup, many upgrades, and even shipping and wasn't much more than what I could have bought a stock bass for locally just a few miles from my house!

Even my bass teacher is impressed with this bass and all the upgrades that were included in the setup. He's tough to please, and he's even considering buying one of these basses...

I hope this review helps some folks that are going through what I went through trying to find a bass!
  2. ctcruiser

Jan 16, 2005
    West Haven, CT