Lefty Chrissy in the house

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Bob Rogers, Aug 19, 2005.

1. Bob Rogers

Bob Rogers Left is Right

Feb 26, 2005
    Blacksburg, Virginia
    Time for my Bass Mitzvah speech: "Today I am a bassist...." Thirty five years of the slab and now I get to try the box.

My lefty Christopher 200 finally got to my house today after five and a half months of waiting. Went down to Greensboro to pick it up at Bob Beerman's Bass Violin Shop. Very nice shop. Had about four dozen basses in. Repair facility in the front room.

Bob had set up the bass nicely. He also had gotten in a lefty Engelhardt EM-1 so that I had a choice. Liked the beefier neck of the Christopher. He had Heritage strings on the Christopher and Obligatos on the Engelhardt. That might have had a lot to do with the louder punchier sound of the Christopher. (I didn't listen to either bass bowed since I am going to concentrate on piz for a while.)

Anyway here is a pic. I have a lot of practicing to do. (It's going easier than I had feared. Lots of fun.)

2. Tbeers

Mar 27, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Wow, congrats! I remember your last thread when you were a bit frustrated about the long wait. But looks like it paid off for you...

Are you going to take DB lessons?
  3. spacecanoe

Aug 6, 2002
    nice work! i too recently got a chrissy. i wont go into my struggle with it haha .. anyways. good luck in learning the upright! its definatly alot of fun, wait till you get to bowing. its like trying to sing and play at the same time! keep us posted on how its coming along im always into hearing how other newbies are doing.

4. Bob Rogers

Bob Rogers Left is Right

Feb 26, 2005
    Blacksburg, Virginia