1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Lemme get this straight...using FX loop on my amp head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Ellery, Jan 3, 2016.

1. Ellery

Ellery

Mar 25, 2015
    I have been using a Gallien-Krueger 1001RB amp head for almost 10 yrs now, and have never used the effects loop. Only in the past 2 years did I add a Carl Martin compressor/limiter to the instrument cable. Otherwise I rely on the head itself which gives good sound. But now that I have been considering using chorus, eq, or distortion/overdrive pedals, I wonder if I should use the effects loop or if that is meant more for something like a line-level effects processor such as a DSP256. Would cranking too much gain from an eq or distortion pedal back into the loop cause damage? Is it more vulnerable than the pre-amp? Should a genuine overdrive pedal only be used on the input or is it ok for the effects loop as well?

2. wave rider

wave rider

Jan 5, 2005
    My impression is that the FX loop works best with rack mount effects and pedals work best into the bass input.

=wr=

Ellery and /\/\3phist0 like this.
  3. /\/\3phist0

/\/\3phist0 Life: It's sexually transmitted and always fatal Supporting Member

+1
    While the loop can come in handy for "some" pedals, many loops, are only 50% signal mix (meaning it's in parallel, meaning the loop, has the same signal strength as the "Dry" signal sent to the power section. Net effect is a 50/50 mix of signal and effect.

Ellery likes this.
  4. rufus.K

rufus.K

Oct 18, 2015
    SoCal
    The manual for the th500 addresses this specifically. It says pedals should be used before the input. Rack effects usually have 4dB levels and should be used in the FX loop.

Ellery likes this.
  5. dincz

dincz

Sep 25, 2010
    Czech Republic