Lemur's Sunrise Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by jtlownds, Apr 26, 2005.

1. jtlownds

Oct 3, 2004
    LaBelle, FL
    Long before I discovered this forum, I bought one of Lemur's Sunrise basses. I recently did a search on "sunrise", and discovered many negative posts. This immediately caused a pucker factor in my shorts. All of these posts pertained to Surise's low-end basses, mostly laminates. Mine, however, is their top-of-the line model, the Del Mar. Here is my story.

Back in Dec, 2002, I went to Lemur to have a bridge fitted to an old King. While I was there, I was completely blown away by the outrageous flame on one of their Del Mar models. I have been playing DB since 1956, and have owned a long line of basses. All laminates (Kay, American Standard, King and Meisel). I have allways wanted a decent carved base. My wife suggested that I buy it (every guy should have a wife like mine) it would be my Christmas present. I A/B'ed it against a couple of Pohlman Busetto models they had in the shop (not that I could afford the Pohlman) and liked it better for both sound and playability. So for $3500 they set it up with an adjustable bridge per my specs, strung it with my string of choice (Obligatos), and threw in a used Mooradian bag/case. The current price for this model is now $4600. In the summer of 2003, I retired and moved from the California desert to the Florida swamps. This extreme change of climate has not had any apparent effect on the bass, and it has opened up nicely since I bought it. My wife has named the bass "Fat Alice". Needless to say, I am happy as a pig in s**t with this bass. My question is, does anyone out there have any experience with Sunrise's top end basses, specifically the Del Mar model? Is there anything I should be looking for that I am not seeing? I'll post some pictures.
  2. jtlownds

Oct 3, 2004
    LaBelle, FL
    More pictures of Fat Alice
  3. Mike Goodbar

Mike Goodbar Supporting Member

Jun 6, 2001