Les Claypool sound

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by NevertheMachine, Feb 11, 2006.

1. NevertheMachine

Oct 18, 2005
    I am a huge fan of Primus and would like to get the type of sound Les has. I can't really explain it, but Les fans should know. I need to know the type of amps, strings (heavy or light), the different effects I should add, etc.
    My bass is an Ibanez BTB550. I just started playing about 2 years ago.

Thank you.
  2. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Lots of mids, bridge pickup, light strings, and slap slap slap. You're gonna want a distortion pedal, like a Rat, and an envelope filter. A delay pedal is good too.

Keep in mind he uses a 6 string for a lot of stuff too.
  3. NevertheMachine

Oct 18, 2005
    I'll see what I can do.

My Ibanez BTB550 Prestiges specifications:
    * 5pc BTB4 Maple/Walnut neck
    * Maple top & back/Mahogany body
    * Medium frets
    * MR-2 bridge (19mm string spacing)
    * DFR-N4 neck pu
    * DFR-B4 bridge pu
    * Vari-Mid IIIBII 3-band eq
    * Elixir® equipped

It has a Bass boost/cut, a balancer, treble boost/cut, then two knobs basically on top of eachother, the top one a mid boost/cut and the bottom a mid frequency.

On my bass, I did not turn up the bass, treble, balancer and frequency. I put the mid boost to the highest it can go. My amp really sucks. It has treble, middle, bass and contour. How should I adjust these? (sorry, I am a beginner)

And I should play near the bridge, not the neck?
  4. i use a fender bassman and for a sound like les claypool i put the bass at about 7 the middle at 9 the high at 6 or 7 and the treble at 5 at it sounds how he does. and even though most of his stuff is on a six string doesnt mean there arent lots of stuff with fours.to defy the laws of tradition is really fun to play.:hyper:
  5. stu FORD

stu FORD

May 22, 2004