Les Paul Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by iriegnome, Dec 12, 2007.

1. iriegnome

iriegnome Bassstar style Supporting Member

Nov 23, 2001
    Kenosha, WI 53140
    Ok. I want one, but I will be modifying it. What I would like is your opinions on the Epiphone Les Paul and the Gibson Les Paul basses. Feel, fit, playability, quality and anything else you can think of. None of my local (within 50 miles) music stores carries either one for me to play.
    Thanks for the help

2. Mr Venus

Mr Venus Guest

Aug 23, 2005
    I have a Gibson Les Paul Standard Bass in cherryburst, made in 2000. The quality of build and finish is excellent, though from what I hear and read Gibson quality in general might have gone downhill a little since then - though I have no first-hand knowledge one way or another.

Playability - great - it has a reasonably chunky neck, and I'm able to get the action quite low without buzz. It take a little while to get accustomed to the way it hangs on a strap if you are more used to say a Fender, and is quite heavy, but generally it feels very comfortable.

The tone is terrific - dark, thick, great bottom end, and with my Orange AD200 all-valve amp it can deliver a good range of tone, from deep, round and warm to biting, crunching, natural harmonic distortion. Individual tone and volume pots for each p/u and the p/u selector probably make it pretty flexible, but being a simple soul I always turn all pots all the way up, use both p/us and adjust the EQ on the amp.

I'm a Fender player first and foremost, and also have a Rick 4001 and a Thunderbird, so the LPSB gets played less often than it should - but it's a great alternative to these and a very fine, underrated bass.

Incidentally, why would you want to modify a bass you haven't even played yet?

3. Johnny Crab

Johnny Crab HELIX user & BOSE Abuser

Feb 11, 2004
    Texas
    +1 on why mod a Gibson.
    An Epi, maybe yes.