Lessons: Hour or half-hour? and rates?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by alexssandro, Aug 22, 2001.

1. For the people who take lessons, I was wondering about the duration of your lessons and what you think. When I used to live in England, I took lessons by the hour. Hour-long lessons were just the standard, at least with the guys I studied with. But after I moved back to the States, I noticed that many instructors teach by the half-hour. For me, half-an-hour just isn't enough time for a quality lesson. By the time you sit down and tune up, you lose five minutes and during the last five minutes of your lesson you end up looking at your watch and getting ready to pack up. That leaves 20 minutes of real lesson time, which isn't really enough to get your mind to that absorbing state, plus you can't really ask many questions. (Of course, you can always remedy that by getting two lessons back-to-back. ;))

Also, how much do you guys spend on your lessons?
  2. td1368

Jan 9, 2001
    I asked for hour lessons but every other week due to other commitments. When I was looking around for instuctors most seemed accomodating to the duration. But your right most seem to want to start with 1/2 hour lessons. I don't know why? Attention span maybe.

Anyway I take 2 - 1 hour lessons a month and it costs 78 dollars.
  3. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    Many instructors have turned to a half an hour, which I don't like at all. My teacher gives one hour lessons at $35 an hour, which is extremely cheap in SF. I've found instructors that are $50 to $75 an hour. My first teacher was $12 for an hour, and that wasn't all that long ago. :eek:
  4. melvin

Apr 28, 2001
    I had $40 a month but I was the only person that took bass lessons from the people I took lessons from, so the lessons went over the half hour thing because the teacher saw something in the book that he wanted to jam on.