Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Lessons vs. Self-Taught

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ishmael_the_god, Jul 15, 2002.

1. There might be a former thread dealing with this, but I was curious as to how everyone learned the bass.

Some friends of mine are interested in learning how to play, and they always ask my opinion as to whether lessons are worth the money. I am self-taught, so I really don't have any comparison. There are certain things I know I lack because I never had a teacher motivate me to learn a specific aspect of playing. Conversely, I know I have formed my own style of playing because I never had anyone tell me I was doing it wrong (but again, is there a right way??)

What does everyone think? Of course, a good teacher makes this a moot point, but if you don't have someone who is extrordinarily good at teaching, is it worth it to get a semi-decent instructor?

Pros and cons please....

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    There is absolutely no contest. Getting a teacher will cause you to learn more, learn better, and learn faster. The RIGHT way. If you're willing to put in the practice time, that is. ;)

The cons of being self-taught:
    • You can develop bad habits you don't even know are wrong, leading to problems in the future. (Improper right/left hand technique, etc.)
    • Books and videos don't talk back, giving you the feedback you need to become a better player. A teacher can evaluate you and tell you what you need to work on.
    • Teachers have real world experience and lessons that can apply to you in ways no book can.

The cons of getting a teacher:

3. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products