Let me ask you?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Tyler_The_Hate, Apr 9, 2005.

1. Tyler_The_Hate

Apr 9, 2005
    I started playing bass about 10 years ago and i am at an intermediate level. Im not great or awe inspiring but im not a total slouch. i can hit some good scales and rythms and even pull some decent slapping off. i could probably have gotten better at my slap tech but in the bands that i have been in there has really been no need to so i never pushed myself on.

now heres the question. i realize that alot of people pick an instrument because they really love that particualr one or they are just generally music lovers. i do love music and playing it is my life. but on the latter side i am a gi-normaous attention hog and my only real intention in bands is chicks and partying. there in i know there are those of you out there who share my veiws.

i have come to learn that as a basssist i am not really getting ANY respect in from poeple. i have always been in rock bands and of course you get the HUGE guitar solos and even those heavy drum hits but alas the bass in this style of music is usually pretty stuck to roots notes and playing behind the guitar. i will usualy TRY and fluff it up a bit and that adds but hey it is no thrashing guitar solo (mostly im talking cover stuff). also i dont really get the lets say "opposite sex's" attraction like the singers or guitarists usually do. the only thing that does seem to work is that im always the best (not to sound cocky casue im way far form that) looking in any band ive been in. and on a more general side im usually the last person even agknowledged as there by on lookers. its always "hey that guiatar solo was fookin awsome", or "you wrecked those drums", but only MAYBE 1/10th the time i here (and usually from another bass player) "dude nice playin".