1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Lettuce FUNK!

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by jacostilllives, Feb 29, 2008.

1. jacostilllives

jacostilllives

May 4, 2004
    Hey all! So I've been listening to this band Lettuce now for a few years and searched on TB and found that there has been nobody that has even mentioned them. So let me be the first to introduce everyone to the experience known as Lettuce. The bass player is awesome. He does not wank on his bass like a lot of funk players do but he just straight up burns and plays some of the funkiest bass lines i have ever heard since Paul Jackson. From what I gather they met as students at Berklee School of music. The band features some well known players like Eric Krasno who you might know from the band Soulive (great band in their own right). Now they aren't the most original band in the world since they are a straight up funk jam band but they have some amazing grooves and great style. Check them out I highly recommend them if someone is looking for some great funk/jazz music. Their only studio album is called "Outta Here" nice play on words Lettuce Outta Here. But they also have a great live album too. I recommend if you want to find out more about them search them on www.allmusic.com and learn! Take care all and I hope I've introduced a great band to some hopeful fans.

Peace,
    Alex

2. Altitude

Altitude An ounce of perception, a pound of obscure. Supporting Member

Mar 9, 2005
    Denver, nee Austin
    Lettuce is cool - I think it's one of Karl Denson's projects? We've covered one of their tunes, "Squad Live", off and on for years. As you suggest, it's very simple and funky.

3. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

Yep, I have one of their cd's. Very funky band. Their bassist is as solid as they come!

4. jacostilllives

jacostilllives

May 4, 2004