Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Level 42

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by campbarrybass, Oct 17, 2002.

1. campbarrybass

campbarrybass

Oct 17, 2002
    Hi guys,

I'm a new contributer from England. In the early to mid eighties I was in a Level 42 tribute band called "Living it up". I played (to my honour) the Mark King role in the band I was a pretty handy slap bassist in those days, I'm a little rusty nowadays.

Although Mark King doesn't enjoy the adulation he once (quite rightly) enjoyed I still think of him as a substantial influence in the bass realm.

I had a disagreement with my teenage son about the qualities of Level 42 and he said it was boring music with no relevance to today. I had to strongly disagree.

As bass players and (I'm assuming) probably younger bass players than me does the work of Mark King/Level 42 still have significance today?

B.

2. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    I'd say it has significance today, it's still played on the radio, and I'm sure it has had influence on today's songwriters, and bass players too. I'm 20 and I dig their music. His bass playing hasn't had a great impact on me personally, but I'm not that interested in slapping. May I ask, what music does your son like?

3. TRU

TRU

Apr 12, 2002
    Northern Europe
    Level 42 was very much an 80's band and the music has lost some of its freshness over the years. It is still good IMO but not fashionable anymore. Also slapping is not very popular these days, so one could say its not too relevant today.

BUT there are dozens of bass players influenced by Mark King, who are using the best parts of his style and turning that into something new. Or at least learning to play those songs have improved their technique. ;)
    I think Jamiroquai is very much based on Level 42 stuff.

Does the work of Jaco still have signifigance today?

4. moley

moley