1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Level as radius beam?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by krfoss, Sep 28, 2017.

Tags:
  1. krfoss

krfoss Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2007
    Orange County, CA
    So, I could spend $42- $85 on this (http://www.stewmac.com/Luthier_Tools/Tools_by_Job/Tools_for_Sanding/Fret_Fingerboard_Levelers.html) fret leveling beam from Stew Mac, OR I could spend $20 on a new level from home depot that has one side ground completely flat.

Is there any reason I shouldn't just go for the level for its dual use as opposed to the more expensive single-tasker? I am not a pro luthier (I'm a bass player who owns tools and hubris), so having the precision tools seems like overkill. I want to do a good job, dont need it to be a perfect job, but want it to be at least good'nuff.

(FYI, I also have the stewmac fret file, so the post-leveling job is taken care of. Yes its a uni-tasker, but its an ultra specialty tool)

2. Means2nEnd

Means2nEnd Supporting Member

They do completely different jobs.... what do you aim to be able to do? A level won't give you a radius and a radius block won't follow string paths.

3. krfoss

krfoss Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2007
    Orange County, CA
    Generally make the frets as even as possible to get the smoothest and lowest action.

4. If it's genuinely ground flat and level and, unfortunately, the only way to really check that is with something else that's ground flat and level, I wouldn't hesitate to use it to level frets. Get some self stick 220 (or grit of your choice ) and off you go.

5. Gilmourisgod

Gilmourisgod

Jun 23, 2014
    Cape Cod MA