Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Level settings for pre-amp v. power amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Inseam, Jun 18, 2004.

1. Inseam

Inseam

Jun 17, 2004
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I'm a newbie here, my first post. What a great site!

I just ordered my first power amp and cabinet. Always used combo amps before. My question is this: how should the relative levels of the pre-amp and power amp be set? That is, should the pre-amp output level be relatively high and the use the power amp level to set the volume, or the other way around? I'm told that the Stewart power amp had great "headroom", which I understand in a general sense, just wondering how best to take advantage of it.

FYI, I'll be using a SansAmp PSA rack pre-amp, a Stewart World 1.2 power amp, and an Acme B-2 cab. I've heard the Acme is power hungry, so I plan to use the Stewart in bridged 4-ohm mode. But I would be nervous turning up the Stewart all the way for fear of damaging the cab with all that power.

2. Passinwind

Passinwind I Know Nothing Supporting Member

The ideal is to leave some headroom at each gain stage. You set input gain just below clipping, at the loudest output from your bass. You set your tone controls such that they won't overdrive the preamp output stage, unless you want that. You set your master gain so that it matches your power amp's input sensitivity, and can drive the amp fully. Then you turn the power amp input to where you have the desired volume.

But I would be nervous turning up the Stewart all the way for fear of damaging the cab with all that power.