Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Life as a Musician!?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Squnk, Feb 24, 2003.

1. Squnk

Squnk

Oct 20, 2002
    Hey All! I am still learning bass and can only play a few songs and I am 17. I don't have much of experence on bass and kindda older than most people when they start learning bass but I know I want a future with Music, I just want to know what is it like beeing a Musician and is it a good chose?:bassist:

2. Good if you can get it and are willing to work your ass off.(and somehow manage to get dental and health insurance to boot)
    Don't worry too much about starting late, I started not much earlier than you. Practice is the great equalizer.

P.S.: Welcome to talkbass :)

3. Dang, I started at 41, you have me beat by a few days!

4. odie

odie Supporting Member

Music related.

5. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

IME, it chooses you, you don't choose it.

I say that because I did the corporate thing for quite a few years but life always led back to the music.

2 Major Reco's

1. Get all the formal education in music you can, while you can. I regret not having done so all the time.

2. Get used to eating Ramen packs as your single meal of the day. :rolleyes:

6. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    There are many paths to being a professional. Some pay well, some don't. I like the one's that pay well.:cool: But remember, the better they pay, the harder the competition for those jobs. So, as has been said:

1. Get as much training as possilbe.
    2. Learn to read music - that means as well as you read english.
    3. Learn as many styles as possible.
    4. Be open to all the possibilities.