1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Life investment?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Sunk, Apr 18, 2006.

1. Sunk

Sunk

Feb 19, 2005
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Greetings!

Ive been playing for a few years on my beginner bass and Im sick of it. Ive got very big hands and the jazz neck isnt working, after tried a p bass Im sure that kind of neck is what Im looking for.

So anyways, Im saving my money to buy something that will last a life time. Im really in to fender p-basses, I love the warm sound and just how it feels in my hands. The only thing that I dont like bout the fender is the numbers of frets, its to few!

I can spend about 2 000$, I want to find the perfect bass. Warm sound, P-bass neck, 24frets that can play any musicstyle. Any suggestions?

PS. I live in sweden, europe where the market for basses isnt that big. DS

2. There are a couple of options you could consider although pure P basses aren't all that common - many come with more pick-ups even though you might have a switch to single out the P pick-up.

For that kind of money, I'd get myself a Valenti. Nino is a frequent member on this board as are many of his clients. You can read the reviews on this board. He has always got glowing reviews and construction is top notch.

3. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    Don't be in a hurry to spend your cash. Do the legwork, and check your options in depth.

I also suggest that the best way to maximize your cash is to buy used. You'll be able to afford a much better bass for the same money.

4. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Some higher-end builders who make P-style basses include Celinder, Mike Lull, and Sadowsky. Hotwire Basses (located in Germany) makes a P-J bass, but it looks to be only a 21 fret.