lifting weights

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by dancing_chris, May 20, 2007.

1. dancing_chris

dancing_chris

Feb 17, 2006
    Hey Guys,

I was wandering if any of you bassplayers here exercise and lift weights? I am asking because if you do, did you ever have problems in your playing because of it? Does lifting weights actually ruin your speed or technqiue and cordination? What can you do against it? Any input is appreciated:)

2. Kael

Kael

Dec 26, 2004
    Oklahoma City
    I actually experienced the opposite. When I started lifting, my warwick monstrosity (17 lbs) didn't kill my back so much after a 4 set night. I've experienced less fatigue with no loss of dexterity. Assuming that is I don't do something stupid and pull a muscle.

3. smeet

smeet Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2006
    Woodland Hills, CA
    It's good for you...
    When I had a carpal-tunnel-type pain in my wrists, doing forward and reverse wrist curls helped a lot, again with no loss of dexterity.
    I also play violin (which is much more delicate) and that was not harmed either.

4. Hey dancing chris

Do a search in the Off Topic area - there are heaps of threads about this. A lot of us (myself included) are involved in the fitness/weight-loss industry.

Feel free to PM me if you want any specific advice.

Good luck

5. Pete C

Pete C

Feb 23, 2007
    New York
    I've been bodybuilding (casually) for two years and haven't noticed any problems with speed.

6. I've been exercising both with weights and through body-weight training for at least 10 years.

I actually have a harder time playing bass when not in shape the stronger my abdominals, lower back muscles and forearms are the more comfortable I feel.