Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

light gauge strings for upright

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by JazznFunk, Dec 12, 2001.

1. JazznFunk

JazznFunk Supporting Member

Mar 26, 2000
    Asheville, NC
    Lakland Basses Artist
    I am just getting into playing upright after playing electric, mostly in jazz settings, for about 5 years. I prefer a low action with light strings on electric and am wanting to set up my upright in much the same fashion. I know that light strings and a low action don't project as well as higher action/heavy gauge strings, but for the sake of my fingers and sanity I'd like to at least find a middle ground. I am leaning toward Thomastik-Infeld strings, but am clueless as to how they are categorized for URB. If anyone has any suggestions for a light/medium gauge strings for pizzicato playing, perferably in TI's line, I'd appreciate it!

2. Bijoux

Bijoux

Aug 13, 2001
    Denver-CO-USA
    You can try the Da'darios light gauge, even the mwdium gauge are a bit lighter then the Tomastiks, I'd say the Da'Darios light gauge are a good place to start, when you build up your strengh so then you can think of something else or just get a different gauge, I use the Heavy gauge set, it seems to me that they respond fast and I get a lot more volume out of my bass, by the way try the Da'dario light gauge Helicore Hybrids, they are supposed to sound good with the bow and pizzicato, the sound with the bow is not very good but at least is not annoying and You'll need to practice with the bow even if you never perform with it, hope it helps, have fun, enjoy the bass!

3. JazznFunk

Mar 26, 2000
    Asheville, NC
    Lakland Basses Artist
    Ed,