Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Light Slim-Necked Good Basses - Sterling or ??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by spaceman, Nov 20, 2004.

1. I've been playing a Yamaha RBX260 for about three years.
    I think it may be time to look for a new/better bass!
    I want something that has a narrow neck and is fairly light. Obviously I
    want something good quality, and I'm somewhat frugal (!). With these
    criteria, and based on what I read here, it seems I should be looking at a
    second-hand Ernie Ball Sterling. However, I wonder if I've developed
    "tunnel vision" too soon for a Sterling! Do folks here have any other
    suggestions for anything else I should be looking at?

Thanks!

2. I love my STERLING but if you want to try something different try the Fender Jazz Geddy Lee it is also very good... :bassist:

3. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    IF you can find a Peavey USA Millennium four string, I would recommend that you seriously take a look at it. The neck profile very similar to that of a Sterling or Jazz bass, and it's electronics are more versatile than either. It also has a graphite reinforced neck.

4. sargebaker

sargebaker Commercial User

May 2, 2004
    Montreal QC CA
    owner/builder, ISLAND Instrument Mfg.
    Theres no OR man, go with the Sterling, you wont regret it!

5. jacove

jacove

Apr 12, 2003
    Aalborg, Denmark