Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Lighting cymbals on fire

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by fatbassjazzer, Apr 18, 2005.

1. fatbassjazzer

fatbassjazzer

Feb 27, 2004
    ATL
    Has anybody ever done this? I've seen it a couple times by people and I was wondering how you would do it. I would think you could rub some gasoline on the front half of it and then put some vaseline where you want the fire to stop and just light it. I have no clue how long the fire would actually last though. I have a bent up old cymbal I want to try this to.

2. Thee

Thee

Feb 11, 2004
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    I think you should try it live and see what happens.

3. Don't use gasoline, it's far too combustible. I believe Jimi Hendrix used lighter fluid when he set his guitar on fire.

Bear in mind that clubs generally will not allow any pyrotechnics on stage, following the Great White tragedy a few years ago.

4. xshawnxearthx

xshawnxearthx

Aug 23, 2004
    new jersey
    yeah, we have done this. lighter fluid of some sort of naptha

5. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    Yes!

Use gas!

Can you get magnesium powder? If so, make a slurry of gas and magnesium powder...But most of all...TAKE PICTURES. I think the local news media would probably pay well for them when you burn the club down.

I heartily encourage the distruction of as many crash cymbals as are possible.

Then maybe I'd get along with drummers.

6. Stinsok

Stinsok Supporting Member

Dec 16, 2002
    Central Alabama
    Don't do it. Don't attempt it or you are asking for trouble. Your band could be the next Great White.

7. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses