Lindy Fralin & S. Duncan "Antiquity" J-Pickups???

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by panic_striken, Oct 27, 2005.

1. panic_striken

Oct 13, 2005
    Can anyone comment on the sound of the Lindy Fralin J-Pickups??? Seymour Duncan "Antiquity" J's???
  2. jacove

Apr 12, 2003
    Aalborg, Denmark
    I have a lot of experience with the me they sound very SWEET and GROWLY with a emphasis on the low mids...I've only heard the antiquities once, and they were more edgy and aggressive to my ear, probably a bit more bassy as well....both pickups are excellent for vintage tone...Bassplayer did a test some years ago of different j-style pickups, you might see if you can find that article.
  3. panic_striken

Oct 13, 2005
    If you were replacing pickups in a Warwick Corvette w/bubinga body what would you recommend???
  4. jacove

Apr 12, 2003
    Aalborg, Denmark
    That's hard to say!
    I've never played a Warwick, but isn't the typical warwick sound a kind aggresive and growly tone? To me that sounds more like the antiquities, but I might be wrong...I bet both pickups would be excellent...
  5. +1 on the Fralins. I have no experience w/ the Antiquities though, but Fralins are very Growly and Raw sounding
  6. Nedmundo

Nedmundo Supporting Member

Jan 7, 2005
    Yeah, Fralin makes awesome J pickups. I have his hum-canceling Split Jazz, which provide excellent vintage tone, clarity, and growl with zero noise. They're expensive, but an excellent option for noise-free vintage J tone. They bring out many nuances of the acoustic tone of the bass, and have decent output too.

The treble is supposedly pulled back compared to a true single coil, but I don't hear much if any difference. Plus, I have a bright sounding maple fretboard J, so I'm turning down the treble anyway.