1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Line over a specific chord progression

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by Flute, May 18, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Flute

Flute

May 18, 2018
    Hi guys! Bass newbie here. Maybe someone could assist me with this, I would be very grateful.

So, I'm creating a bass line over a simple chord progression which goes C Am7 F G, 4/4 on some 86bmp... However I'm struggling to play the right note over the Am7 chord - I'm playing the A obviously but on moments it just does not seem to sound right... It's a simple pop progression and I just want to make a solid foundation. I've tried to throw in some other notes but nothing does seems to sound right. Could someone point me to some similar chord progression or a song so I could figure out what would be the best solution when going from minor to minor7h? Thanks a lot for any ideas!

2. The note A is the best choice for the Am7 chord.

As far as substitutions go, see if you like any of these alternatives:

C Am F G7
    C C7/E F G
    C C+ F G
    C E7 F6 G7

3. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    Just thinking about it without a bass in front of me...
    Have you tried E (maybe via D for the last beat of the C chord), which is 5th of the Am7 (for 2nd inversion) and leads stepwise to root of next chord F? Or C (m3 of Am7 for 1st inversion) then walking via D and E to F? Or walking chromatically via Ab, G (7th of Am7) and Gb to F? Or a chromatic A, Bb, B to C (for F in 2nd inversion)? Or a full Am7 arpeggio, something like A-C-E-A-G-E in suitable rhythm then to resolving to F?

4. Flute

Flute

May 18, 2018