Linear volume pot with center detent

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by loadedthorn, Oct 11, 2016.

1. loadedthorn

loadedthorn

Apr 7, 2015
    I have a bass with an audio taper volume pot and would like to replace it with a linear pot. Easy so far. I frequently pull my volume down to 50-75% and back to 100%, so a center detent would be really helpful to keep that lower level consistent. However, the only pots I can find from parts outlets with a center detent happen to be blend pots. Is there a secret 250k or 500k linear pot with center detent out there? Or is there a creative way to wire up a MN blend pot so it behaves like a volume pot with 50% signal in the center? I'm considering using an AC blend pot, which I think gives me a 75% signal at center. But I'm guessing it would be a drop from 100 to 75 at the center, and then taper from 75 - 0 after that? Thanks in advance for any advice! Clearly I'm a beginner, so the answer may be really obvious.

(and yes, the alternatives of using a regular linear pot, using a volume pedal, or doing nothing are all options... I was just hoping to get more functionality out of the one pot replacement)

2. testing1two

testing1two Supporting Member

Feb 25, 2009
    Southern California
    You may have better luck taking a 50k or 100k linear pot (like used on active EQ circuits) and adding a resistor across the terminals to get you in the ballpark of 250k. This affects the pot's taper so no guarantee it will function adequately for your application or if the detente will occur at the output level you want.

Noble - EQ Pot - 50K EQ - Best Bass Gear

A cheap workaround in the meantime would be a volume knob with numbers on it or a chickenhead knob (anything with a pointer) that you can turn to a specific position without looking.

3. I'm afraid you can only reduce the effective value of a pot this way, not increase it.