Lined or Unlined - Which fretless neck is more popular?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TriumphRider99, Feb 26, 2024.

Lined Fretless or Unlined?

Poll closed Mar 27, 2024.
  1. Lined...

107 vote(s)
    55.4%
  2. Unlined...

86 vote(s)
    44.6%
  1. TriumphRider99

TriumphRider99 Supporting Member

Feb 28, 2013
    Eugene Oregon
    Hi -

My question is directed to luthiers more experienced than I am in defretting basses.

I am a rank amateur who specializes in modifying and upgrading Sterling by MusicMan (SBMM) Ray4 and Ray5 basses. At or around this price point, there are almost no good playing good sounding fretless basses, so I feel I am addressing a niche, however minor.

Generally, what I do (only to rosewood neck basses), is to change all the hardware to black, change the pickup to either the GFS MM pickup, Aguilar 4 or 5 M, or (most commonly) the Nordstrand MM4.2 or 5.2, and replace the preamp with a clone of the original pre-EB Stingray 2-band preamp. I also defret the bass, and usually cover up the lines and dots.

I have been a bass player for over 50 years and now play mostly unlined fretless bass, so my bias is to create unlined fretless necks on these projects.

At the moment, I am studying under John Clarity who creates mostly lined fretless defrets, so it made me wonder if I am shooting myself in the foot by just sticking to unlined boards.

My question, stated in the subject line above, is would most people interested in buying their first fretless bass (my target market) want a lined or unlined one?

I do NOT wish to start any sort of debate. I just wish to know if those of you who do both have found that there is a distinct preference for one or the other.

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

LadyLoveStingRay5 and B-Mac like this.
  2. Slidlow

Slidlow The Human CNC Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2009
    Oshawa, Canada
    I haven't seen any majority either way. Totally up to the end user.

esa372 and 31HZ like this.
  3. Bruce Johnson