Lines & Dots...fretless 5

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by peatea, Oct 26, 2003.

1. peatea

Sep 26, 2003
    I have been playing both bass and guitar for well over 30 years but I never played a 5 string or a fretless bass before. I love the sound of a fretless but I have been hesitant because I just was not ready to learn a new instrument. Not long ago I made the plunge and picked up a 5 string fretless. I figured that it would be best to have one with both dots and fret lines so I have some idea of where I am on the neck.
    At first my intonation was terrible, even with the dots and lines. I was constantly looking at the neck to be sure I had my fingers right on the lines. In the last couple months I have put in 4-6 hours a day practicing and have played 3 gigs with it. This is indeed a new instrument to learn. If you are considering going fretless be prepared to put in some hard work learning it.

My first gig was hit or miss. I got by but my intonation was more off than on.

My second gig was better mostly because I quit looking at the lines and dots and used my ear and harmonics to know just where I was playing.