Lining a fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Joris, Aug 17, 2000.

1. I'm sure this has been brought up before, but whatever.

I've been playing a bit of fretless bass for a few months now on a Samick 5 string with rosewood fretboard.

Does anybody have suggestion on how to line a fretless, without having to inlay the lines. The purpose is to have lines while I'm improving my technique and to remove them (simply put) when I'm done. Not only for the appearance of the bass, but also for not getting confused once I know where everything's at. It's ok if they wear off a bit, since I plan to remove them anyway after, say, a year.

So, paint, chalk, other stuff?

2. Player

Dec 27, 1999
    USA Cincinnati, OH
    Is there a finish on the fingerboard? (I think you only call it a fretboard if it has frets ;) ) If there is you could use a magic marker or something like that. If it's bare rosewood then I don't know because anything you put on will probably soak into the wood and be hard to remove later. Chalk might work, but it seems you would have to draw new lines everytime you pick up the bass and I don't know how good it would be for the wood.