Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Listening to great players

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by moley, Nov 27, 2002.

1. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    When you listen to a great player (on any instrument that you play) do you get inspired to improve your playing, or do you think the opposite - "Ahh, I'll never be as good as that, I may as well give up" or somesuch. Or maybe you have a different reaction all together...

I find when I listen to Herbie Hancock, I have the former reaction, but when I listened to Jaco last night, it was the latter (not that I really thought I'd giving up, it's just those kind of thoughts went through my head)... Maybe it's just that I'm a better pianist than bass player.

2. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    I use to get discouraged when I saw a player better than me. In the last couple of years though, I've went the complete oppisite. If I see someone who's better than me, or maybe, they just know a few things I don't, I watch them and try to pick up on everything I can.

3. P. Aaron

P. Aaron Supporting Member

Great musicianship doesn't intimidate me. That's just a matter of that individuals' interpretation/motivation, and it is not neccesarily what I always want to do. The sounds and tone great musicians get inspires me to keep playing.

What I get totally awed/intimidated by is consistently great song writing.

Elvis Costello, Guided by Voices, Bacharach, Lennon/McCartney, Jagger/Richards types, who can crank out the hooky tunes that run the range of emotions, styles, and situations.

I would rather write good songs than have good chops.

4. When I hear something great on a record, it makes me want to pick up my bass and learn the song. When I see someone, especially a friend/local player who rocks, it makes me want to give up.

5. TRU

TRU

Apr 12, 2002
    Northern Europe