Live Rig Sound Problems

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lowfreqfreak, Nov 26, 2004.

1. lowfreqfreak

Jul 1, 2001
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Basses, GHS Strings
    What's up all?
    I've been playing for about 10 years but never really focused on the technical aspects of gear. In short, I am having some problems with my live sound, particularly when I go direct. When I play in our practice space, my sound is great through my cab.

I am using a hartke 3500 through a swr goliath sr. (6x10).

I used to use my hartke 3500 through the matching hartke 4.5xl (4x10 with 5"cone) My sound was fine with this setup.

I had been using a Warwick Corvette standard 5string (passive) up until about the time that I got the SWR cab.

I recently aquired a 1994 warwick streamer lx (active, 2 band).

People say that the new warwick gets lost in the mix when my band plays our heavier parts. And when I slap, there is supposedly some popping "like a loose connection" or maybe "when you adjust your volume and eq onstage" people have suggested.

Others have said the bass puts out too much lows. My hartke head has a simple compression circuit that i adjusted to help keep everything the same volume (so i think...i don't really know how that works)

I'm kinda bothered by this, because I love my new bass and I hate to imagine that it sounds like **** live. But basically the Corvette with my old cab sounds better.

Any suggestions? I assume I can settle the muddiness by adjusting my eq. Should I look into a rackmount compression unit such as a dbx 160? I've seen that people like Ryan Martinie of the band Mudvayne has one and you cna pretty much hear everything he plays live.

Is my hartke too weak for my new cab? I do pump the volume more when we play live than in the practice room. (It's basically my monitor)

Please help me