1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Live set up

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Fadge, Nov 10, 2018.

1. Fadge

Fadge

Nov 10, 2018
    Hi all, I'm new to the live gig thing and was wondering what the best on stage set up would be? The venues we are playing are small and I have an 80 W combo amp. We have a small P.A that guitars and mics go through but I'm not sure if I should mic up my amp as well and put it through the P.A with a condenser or something. We have no external desk. Thanks.

2. BassAndReeds

BassAndReeds

Oct 7, 2016
    80W combo? Sounds like you need to DI to the PA, and use the amp as a monitor. I wouldn’t mic the cab. Unless you are trying to play with a lot of distortion.

What style of music?
    What’s PA speakers do you have?
    What PA do you have?

3. Fadge

Fadge

Nov 10, 2018
    Hi bass and reeds, thanks for the reply. Yeah we have small portable P.A with like eight channels and two I think 18" speakers and two 12" inch speakers on top and mainly play rock stuff. I think your suggestion about a d.I box is worth looking into but would I be loud enough with just the combo playing pub gigs? Thanks again for getting back.

4. BassAndReeds

BassAndReeds

Oct 7, 2016
    Two 18” subs isn’t small. Unless they’re passive and you’re not driving them with enough power. But assuming your power is adequate, you could play most any venues with that.

But you may not have the 18s, and even if you have just the two 12s, you would still be fine.

So yes, no power issues. I’d set it up at a practice and try it out. Especially if you’re still new at this.

Fadge likes this.
  5. Please get a good look at the make and model of your speakers and what I assume is an 8 channel powered mixer. I have my doubts that you are using 18" and 12" speakers. With this info we can help you.

BTW buy a sans am DDDI or a zoom b3 for your DI