Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Live Sound/Soundman Questions/Issues Answered Here!

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Mark Reccord, Nov 3, 2002.

1. Hey all,

I'm just posting this to say that if anybody has questions about live sound and dealing with sound people, I will be happy to try to answer them from a sound person's perspective. I have 10 years experience in live sound, tour management and sound system design. If there's interest maybe I can develop a FAQ about it.
    cheers!

2. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    What do you do when the soundman insists on miking your amp instead of going DI (because of a ground problem they claim to have with the in house system) and then asks you to turn down so low that you effectively have no stage reference?

3. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    Why don't soundmen use their ears?

Ex 1 Sound Desk Attendant bullies the drummer and I to turn down lower and lower instead of giving the singer a mic that works.

Ex2 SDA mutes the bass (not mine) and forgets to put it back on. I was standing 3ft from the desk and congratulated the SDA for eliminating bass.

Ex3 SDA shouts at me to turn down whilst the band were playing and I was writing the transposed chords that the keyboardist forgot to notify me about.

Ex4 SDA sits for 5 mins with a big grin on face whilst mic howls.

Ex5 SDA turns off the guitar channel because there is feedback everytime the guitar goes off. I place my hand in front off the vocal mic.

EX6 SDA repeatedly turns up the backing singer because they couldnt grasp the concept of the two singers changing positions (and therefore mics).

4. FretNoMore

FretNoMore * Cooking with GAS *

Jan 25, 2002
    The frozen north