1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Live vs Recording

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by AppliedStucco, May 4, 2010.

1. Hi all...

I play bass in a worship team and today I tried to play along a live recording of our worship that didn't have bass. Just guitars, piano, vocals, kickless drums and horns.

I recorded what I was playing and I was very surprised. I thought I was a half-decent bassist, but I made some serious mistakes. I played often out of time, I overplayed a lot at some points and my technique was quite sloppy (some of the time). Also, I missed some notes here and there. It was a welcome realization that I am not as good as I think I was and I should be practicing more. :ninja::scowl:

My questions are:
    1. Is it possible that the same song might require another bassline or approach when recorded or played live? Or am I indeed overplaying?
    2. Do more people feel like this when they listen to their recordings?
    3. How come I never noticed all those mistakes? I knew I made some mistakes, but not like this. Should we invest in IEM's or improve the monitor mix?
    4. How can I improve? I need to get my timing in check. I thought I had decent timing, but the recording says otherwise (may it be latency?).:ninja:

Sorry for the long post.

2. That's quite normal. Recording yourself all the time is the best solution to really understand what works and what not. Altough I usually discover I'm overplaying in live situations when the PA is pounding.